90 minutes of downtime over the night
We are currently undergoing another spell of heavy ill-intended traffic from around the world. This means that a lot of you will be met with a “you have been temporarily blocked” message when you visit 23. Hopefully, we’ll be able to go back online very shortly though.
We sorry for the disruption…
Update: We had about 90 minutes of downtime over the night due another spike in traffic, but after this everything has been running smoothly. To summarize a little, we’ve just entered our sixth day of denial of service attacks from multiple sources. Such attacks are basically organized efforts to drown out real web traffic to and from service such as 23 with a lot of random traffic. Over the past four days, this has resulted in a combined downtime of about two hours, and we’re actively trying to manage the fall-out.

June 24th, 2008 at 3:40 am
Keep me posted.
June 24th, 2008 at 10:45 pm
Thanks for informing. And also thanks for opening the comments.
June 25th, 2008 at 9:08 am
I cann’t upload now……
June 27th, 2008 at 3:00 pm
Any idea when access will be restored from japan? I have a load of pics I want to put up…
June 28th, 2008 at 2:13 am
Have been attempting to access photos on the site for two days now and continue to get error message 404. What’s up?
July 1st, 2008 at 4:36 am
Hi, this is 23 user yuksing. I live in Hong Kong and by now it has been more than a week that I am “temporarily blocked” out of 23hq.com, at least from home.
Is there something you/I can do to fix this? My internet service provider is netvigator.com
Thanks for your attention.
Klaus
July 3rd, 2008 at 12:27 pm
Which ISPs have you locked out? Have they been notified of their involvement in the DoS attack? You seem to have locked out the Australian TPG, though I am able to access 23 from where I work, which has a different ISP.
July 3rd, 2008 at 8:23 pm
Hi Weaver,
Could you give me an IP address for TPG? I will check which TPG network is blocked.
A large number of ISPs under APNIC have been blocked. We are still in the process of reviewing the whois records. Only a handful of ISPs with particularly many attackers have been notified yet, but none of them have responded to our queries.
Guan
July 4th, 2008 at 12:26 pm
Thanks, it’s 123-243-81-155.tpgi.com.au (123.243.81.155)
Unfortunately I don’t imagine you’ll get much more of a response from them than you have from the others.
July 4th, 2008 at 5:48 pm
Weaver, I’ve unblocked a couple of networks that could belong to TPG. Let’s see if this works.
July 7th, 2008 at 10:09 pm
I’ve read a bit about photo-sharing sites recently, wanted to take a look at 23hq.com too (it has some advantage over flickr for me as I am European) and found “You are blocked…” message. Isn’t it possible to make blocking more intelligent (= block machines which actually take part in the attack)?
July 12th, 2008 at 5:29 am
fwiw - nope, still blocked
July 12th, 2008 at 10:06 am
Hopefully all better now?
July 12th, 2008 at 2:24 pm
yep - there you are again!
thanks!